# MALTREATMENT OF VULNERABLE ADULTS REPORTING POLICY FOR DHS LICENSED PROGRAMS

As a mandated reporter, if you know or suspect that a vulnerable adult has been maltreated, you must report it immediately (within 24 hours).

W	here to Report		
•	You can report to the Common Entry Point at		(phone number).
•	Or, you can report internally to (name or position) If the individual listed above is involved in the alleged or suspected maltreatment, you must report to (name or position).		
<u>In</u>	ternal Report		
<ul> <li>When an internal report is received,</li></ul>			
<u>In</u>	ternal Review		
	When the facility has reason to know that an internal or external report of alleged or suspected maltreatment has been made, the facility must complete an internal review and take corrective action, if necessary, to protect the health and safety of vulnerable adults. The internal review must include an evaluation of whether:		
	(i) related pol	icies and procedures were followed;	
	(ii) the policie	s and procedures were adequate;	
	(iii) there is a i	need for additional staff training;	

the reported event is similar to past events with the vulnerable adults or the services

there is a need for corrective action by the license holder to protect the health and

(iv)

(v)

involved; and

safety of vulnerable adults.

# Primary and Secondary Person or Position to Ensure Internal Reviews are Completed The internal review will be completed by \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ (name or position). If this individual is involved in the alleged or suspected maltreatment.

(name or position) will be responsible for completing the internal review.

#### **Documentation of the Internal Review**

The facility must document completion of the internal review and provide documentation of the review to the commissioner upon the commissioner's request.

## **Corrective Action Plan**

Based on the results of the internal review, the license holder must develop, document, and implement a corrective action plan designed to correct current lapses and prevent future lapses in performance by individuals or the license holder, if any.

## Staff Training

The license holder shall ensure that each new mandated reporter receives an orientation within 72 hours of first providing direct contact services to a vulnerable adult and annually thereafter. The orientation and annual review shall inform the mandated reporters of the reporting requirements and definitions specified under Minnesota Statutes, sections 626.557 and 626.5572, the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.65, the license holder's program abuse prevention plan, and all internal policies and procedures related to the prevention and reporting of maltreatment of individuals receiving services.

The license holder must document the provision of this training, monitor implementation by staff, and ensure that the policy is readily accessible to staff, as specified under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.04, subdivision 14.

THIS REPORTING POLICY MUST BE POSTED IN A PROMINENT LOCATION, AND BE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.